Under 13 Ladies Football v Beann Eadair

Under 13 Girls Just Miss Out on Playoff

The Under 13 girls travelled out to Beann Eadair on a glorious Saturday afternoon trying to force a playoff for league honours.   Having requested an earlier start to the game the referee arrived 50 mins late and it was not the ideal preparation for this important game.   However the Erin Go Bragh girls made a good start and were very unlucky not to find the net in the early exchanges.  There was a strong blustery wind assisting the hosts in the first half and it was nearly 10 minutes before the first point arrived to the hosts.  Erin Go Bragh replied a few minutes later  with a good fisted point from Zoe Kenny and the game was well balanced.  But then Beann Eadair got on top and went on a scoring spree scoring 1-5 without reply.  The Erin Go Bragh girls showed their fighting spirt and a great run and shot from Anna Omotayo saw the ball come off the upright with Zoe Kenny on hand to put the ball in the net.  It was a lifeline the team needed with only five points in it: Erin Go Bragh 1-1 Beann Eadair 1-6.  

The second half began well for EGB but a few missed chances saw no change in the scoreline.  Beann Eadair got a grip in midfield and tapped over a couple of points to move 7 clear.  As hard as the EGB girls tried nothing would go right in front of goal and only an Aoife O'Sullivan free added to the EGB tally.  Beann Eadair ran out eventual winners on a scoreline of EGB 1-2 Beann Eadair 2-10.  Even though there was a lot of disappointment the coach Jerry O'Sullivan couldn't have asked for any more from the girls on the day.  Well done to the girls on finishing runners up in the league and promotion to U14 Division 2 next season having won 8 of their 10 games.  It was a great achievement for a group of talented girls and they will set their sights on the championship in September. All the girls put in a huge effort this year so far.

Team: Jade Omotayo, Megan Owens, Rachel Murray, Amy Carroll, Kim Scully, Aoibhinn Burke, Katie Kearney, Anna Omotayo, Ellen Gribben, Keri Redmond, Aoife O'Sullivan, Abbie Murray, Zoe Kenny, Evelyn Osunde, Ciara Conway, Lauren Doherty, Claire O'Carroll Aoibhe Kearney, Leah Ivory, Ellie Manning, Claudia Milewska.


Club Sponsors


This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work.