Adult Football

Gaelic football has been played under the name of Erin Go Bragh since 1887. One of the earliest fixtures known is that at Porterstown on October 2nd V Wolfe Tones of Bluebell at 12.30. Erin Go Bragh  competed in the Sunday Junior Football League from 1904-1909 and were junior league runners up in 1906. The club disbanded in 1909 and re appeared again in 1917, disbanding again in 1922.

Erin go Bragh reappeared in 1943 and  were one of 6 new teams to be re-organised or founded at the end of 1943 for the forthcoming 1944 season. They played their games on the Porterstown Road just down from where St. Mochtas soccer club now play. They were Junior 'A' League winners and overall Junior League runners up in 1945. The club continued competing until around 1947 disbanding again.


In the 1950s Erin Go Bragh was re organised by the parish priest of Porterstown Father Redmond, Paddy Downing of Clonsilla and James Lynam of Porterstown. The club only played at juvenile level with a single team winning a minor league in 1963. Club past president Ellis Poynton was a member of that team. They disbanded again shortly after with most of the team joining St. Brigids and others joining a club called Maurice O'Neills who played their games in the Phoenix Park  Erin Go Bragh played their games in the colours of green and red at this time.

Erin Go Bragh fielded a junior football team in 1986 and played in the then Junior Division 2. Their first game was against St. Brigids B team and attracted a crowd of around 250 people. They reached the quarter finals of the junior A football championship in their second year. In 2011 the football team finished runners up in AFL Division 8 of the league gaining promotion to Division 7. They also reached the final of the Junior D Football Championship loosing to St. Annes in O'Toole Park 


In 2012 the club fielded two teams, One in Division 7 and another in Division 10 North County. The first team maintained their status in Division 7 while the second team fielded in all their games and played in the league only. The first team progressed to the quarter finals of the junior D championship but lost to Ballyboughal.

2013 proved to be a difficult year for football in the club. The second team was disbanded early in the season and the first team were relegated from division 7. In 2014 the club fielded one team in division 10 north county and the junior E football championship.


1906 Junior Football League Runners Up

1945 Junior 'A' Football League Winners

1945 Junior Football League Runners Up

1963 Minor Football League Winners

2005 Minor Division 5 Football League Winners

2006 Minor Division 4 Football League Winners

 2011 Junior Football AFL Division 8 Runners Up

 2011 Junior D Football Championship Runners Up



Sponsored by




This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work.